Dark Chocolate Almond Granola Bars

For the past 3 weeks I have been serving on Jury Duty. Since I work in a dining hall, my meals are normally provided to me, which means I’m back to packing lunches again (the horror!)

I actually really enjoy making lunches for myself, so it’s been nice to get back into a routine. I rely on snacks to give me energy throughout the day such as fruit, yogurt, nuts and granola bars. I don’t like spending much money on granola bars, so often times I will make my own. Healthier and better tasting, in my opinion.

IMG_8137

It had been a while since I made my own granola bars and they always do the trick. Load them up with healthy ingredients and you have a nutritious and satisfying snack. What’s great about bars is that you can customize them to your preferences. Mix and match with different nuts, seeds, and dried fruits depending on your mood. A few ingredient ideas:

  • Pecans
  • Walnuts
  • Almonds
  • Shredded Coconut
  • Chia Seeds
  • Flax Seeds
  • Raisins
  • Dried Cranberries
  • Dried Apricot

I made these bars on a whim and used whatever I had in my cabinets. I went with flaxseed, raisins, and chocolate covered almonds that I had on hand from Nature Box. These stole the show. Anything with Dark Chocolate and Almonds is a win in my book.

IMG_8128

The verdict? Delish! These bars are sweet, but not too sweet and they definitely keep you feeling satisfied. They can get a bit crumbly so make sure to allow them to cool completely before cutting. I even popped mine in the fridge for about an hour. Pack them up for healthy snacks on the go!

IMG_8133

Dark Chocolate Almond Granola Bars

Recipe adapted from Inspired Taste

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total: 2 hours 35 min (includes cooling)

Ingredients

1/2 cup raisins

2 1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup flax seed

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup agave nectar or honey

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup almonds, chopped

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 8×8 baking dish with tinfoil.

2. Place raisins in bowl of warm water. Allow to soak for 10 min.

3. Toast oats for 5 min on stovetop. Remove.

4. Toast almonds for 3 minutes on stovetop.

5. Mix dry ingredients in large bowl (oats, flaxseed, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt)

6. Mix wet ingredients in medium bowl (agave or honey, canola oil, vanilla)

7. Add dry wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir until combined.

8. Add almonds, drained raisins and chocolate chips. Stir well.

9. Add mixture to baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 min

10. Allow bars to cool for 2 hours before cutting

These bars can be stored on the counter or in the fridge for about a week. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Almond Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Granola Bars. Quick and easy healthy recipe sweetened with honey.

Leave a Reply

