Fun at Penn State

Laughter is the best medicine

This weekend I visited my good friend and fellow RD, Dara!

Dara and I shared our experience at Penn State doing our dietetic internship and she’s now there getting her PhD in Nutrition. It was time that I experienced Penn State football, so I made the trip to watch a fierce game against Temple University.

Before heading up I had to bake Dara a lovely treat, of course. Dara loves her morning breakfast bars so I searched one of my favorite blogs, fANNEtastic Food and found these tasty Almond Butter Banana Breakfast Bars.

These bars are vegan, which means no dairy, butter or eggs. Just fresh, wholesome ingredients for good health and great taste! Added bonus: since they contain no eggs,  you can sneak some bites of the batter too 🙂

These bars include some of my favorite ingredients:

  • Spelt flour-a very nutritious grain
  • Agave nectar
  • Almond butter
  • Unsweetened Apple Sauce
  • BaNaNas!
  • Flax Seed
  • Oats

With almond butter for protein, bananas and oats for fiber, and applesauce and agave for sweetness it’s a perfect combo for a power bar sans artificial ingredients. A much better option than store-bought products. It’s so simple too! Just mix up the ingredients, pour it in a pan, pop it in the oven and you’ve got great-tasting bars in no time.

Individually wrapped and ready to go! I snuck one as a snack for my trip and loved it. Highly recommended for an easy and satisfying treat.

Once those were done it was time to head to good old State College. Dara and I met at our usual spot, Wegmans! We made a scene when we saw each other, quickly caught up and then it was time for some shopping.

After that was out of our system it was time for a night out on the town! We had a tasty dinner at Cozy Thai that consisted of  Cupcake Wine

and Prik Pow: stir fried veggies and chicken with sweet chili paste. Spicy and delish!

Dinner also consisted of reminiscing and our strategy to somehow live closer to each other so we can have fun 24/7.

Next stop on the list: Penn State night life. We made our way to a few local spots, each very unique. State College has so many diverse and lively places to check out!

The next day was GAME DAY! Our only plans were to enjoy the beautiful weather and tailgate with Dara’s boyfriend and his family.

Never before had I been to a tailgating experience like this one. Penn State has some pride.

Soon we headed over to Beaver Stadium, which holds up to 110,000 screaming fans. We enjoyed the day and watched Penn State claim a victory over Temple.

Being a Syracuse-er, I do feel a little bad cheering for Penn State. But it doesn’t count if I’m not a big football fan, right?

The next morning I had to leave bright and early to beat the game traffic. The weekend had gone far too quick, but it wasn’t over yet. My next adventure involved finding a secluded farm in Three Springs, PA with no service and no sense of direction. Luckily, I had been given good instructions and found myself in a beautiful area.

Why was I heading to a farm? Stay tuned for my next post to find out!

Until then, have a healthy, happy week 🙂

5 thoughts on “Fun at Penn State

  1. Pingback: Bakin’ Me Crazy « Have It Your Weigh

  2. Pingback: Best of 2010 « Have It Your Weigh

Leave a Reply

