Pumpkin Party

Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all. ~Harriet van Horne

Have I mentioned how much I love DC? Each week I discover new events, meet new friends and experience something unique. This weekend Danielle and I were planning a pumpkin cooking party, and there were many fun things that happened along the way…

I started this weekend dining at a delish tapas restaurant, Jaleo, with my classmate Marisa and a few of her friends. We had an amazing dinner and I had my first night-life experience in Georgetown! It was such a fun time, our next outing is already under way 🙂

The next morning, Danielle and I went to a DC area blogger/reader meetup! This fun event was set up by one of my favorite bloggers, Emily. She planned for everyone to meet at Sweet Green in Dupont, for a healthy meal with a side of good conversation. I got a chickpea and baked falafel wrap while chatting with some great people. (Thanks Emily!)

After the event a few of us went to an arts festival called Crafty Bastards, which showcased many interesting artists and venues.

One of my favorite artists

Cute salt and pepper holder

It was so hard not to buy EVERYTHING at this fair. I loved it all.

On our way back from the events, Danielle and I stumbled across Cleveland Park Day, a festival right in my area! Each of the shops and restaurants were showcasing their products so we decided to check it out.

We stopped by each place (including a mini wine tasting!), and I left with a book and a new love for Cleveland Park.

Then we were ready to take on our next project: Allison and Danielle do Pumpkin.

During our dietetic internship, Danielle and I bonded over our love for this Fall favorite. Now that it’s back in season and the shortage has resolved (phew!), we decided to cook some tasty dishes.

I had been experimenting with pumpkin over the past few weeks:

Pumpkin Oatmeal Delight

Pumpkin Bliss Smoothie

Black Bean and Pumpkin Veggie Burgers courtesy of Anne from fANNEtastic Food

Easy and tasty!

You may be thinking, what’s all the hype about pumpkin? For one it tastes great! But that’s not the only reason I love it. Pumpkin is super healthy, even right from a can. It’s high in Vitamin A, which has many functions:

  • Maintains healthy teeth, bones, and skin
  • Promotes good vision
  • Vitamin A found in pumpkin is converted from beta carotene, an antioxidant that rids of the free radicals in your body!

I also like pumpkin because it is versatile. There are so many dishes it can be added to! Which led to the challenge that Danielle and I faced being two of the most indecisive.people.ever. We labored over which recipes to prepare, while sipping a Pumpkin beverage.

After a lot of searching, some debate and a few tears (kidding, kind of) we chose a menu and we were ready for some serious cooking!

To start the meal we decided on a refreshing appetizer: Pumpkin Bean Dip, again from fANNEtastic food (we must share a love for pumpkin)

We mixed a few wholesome ingredients in a blender

and out came a pumpkin version of hummus!

Served with celery sticks and a few of our favorite multigrain chips from Food Should Taste Good.

The main course: Turkey Pumpkin Chili, using a Whole Foods recipe to ensure healthy ingredients.

We sprinkled some shredded mexican cheese on the chili

and served it with Pumpkin Corn Bread on the side (prepared with 1/2 the sugar)

For dessert:  Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars. To healthy them up we used reduced fat cream cheese. Yum!

Overall I gave our pumpkin experiment an A++ :).  I loved our meal because each dish was pumpkin inspired, but the taste was subtle and just right. My favorite dish was a toss-up between the hummus and the corn bread.

The chili was tasty, but was missing a little something. Literally. We forgot some of the ingredients. But if made as directed, we think it would taste fantastic! The best part of all of this? Lots of leftovers!

Pumpkin is a healthy food with all the flavor! Add it to your favorite meals and recipes for great taste and a boost of disease fighting nutrients. Carve your own pumpkin, have the canned version or try out both! Have it Your Weigh.

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Party

  1. Wow thats a lot of pumpkin – I love it! Lately I’ve been baking with pumpkin, but I would love to try to make savory-pumpkin dishes too.

  2. i love all of these pumpkin dishes! so excited fall is officially here.:) i just made some sweet potato corn bread recently, but i’m really interested in trying out pumpkin corn bread! thanks for all of the delicious recipes!

    • You must! Click on where it says Pumpkin Bean Dip in the post and it will link you to the recipe on Anne’s website. I hope you like it!

  3. Hey Allison! I love your blog! Just bought some pumpkin at the store the other day and can’t wait to try some of these recipes. I made the pumpkin bean dip the other night – delish! Hope things are well in the office…tell Sarah I said hi…I’ll stop in for a visit sometime soon 😉

    • Hey Christy!! Thanks for reading! I’m so glad you liked the pumpkin bean dip. Please come by the office soon, we want to hear all about your trip!

Leave a Reply

