Acupunctured

Sometimes the most important thing in a whole day is the rest we take between two deep breaths.  ~Etty Hillesum

Presenting: My new sneakers! 🙂

Comfortable, light, and oh-so stylish!

Thank you to my bro and sister-to-be for my gift card that allowed me to buy these awesome kicks.

These are my dream running sneakers, but in my case these sneaks were made for walking. October 15th marks  my one year anniversary (celebration, anyone?) of being diagnosed with Chostochondritis, which is a fancy term for chest inflammation from a muscle pull. To make a long story short, I was having a hard time bagging 12-pound bags of soup during my internship and things got a little crazy…

Luckily I am feeling MUCH better, but with the hectic life of a 20-something year old, lifting, moving and living life has gotten in the way of a full recovery. I also had continued regular exercise, which I now know was not the best idea. To limit any additional injury from exercise, instead of running I have taken up walking. And walk I do! This city and the sites has made it very easy to walk miles and miles.

As I was telling my story to a friend one day, she mentioned she does something amazing for her back problems. What was her secret? Acupuncture! At first I was a little hesitant, I am TERRIFIED of needles. But my cousin Megan is an acupuncturist, and I had heard of the benefits not only for  injuries but for stress relief as well. Right on target with my DC experiment! I took a deep breath and decided it couldn’t hurt to try.

I entered into Little Bird Community Acupuncture, and as soon as I was there all the scary thoughts were gone. Suzzanne, the acupuncturist, was so friendly. I felt right at home! We went over my history, she asked some simple questions and right away I was in the chair. 7 tiny needles were put on different parts of my body (eek), but I barely felt a thing! I had one in each arm, two in each foot and 4 on my chest. Once she was done inserting the needles, my body did the rest. All I had to do was close my eyes and relax, which wasn’t hard. I felt SO good. The acupuncture relaxed my entire body. Stress relief made simple.

After I was done with my session (I’ll be going for about 10 more), I got a big hug from Suzzanne, and she placed magnets on each of my wrists. Acu-on the go!

These stay on until they’re ready to fall off. So far so good!

Acupuncture may seem a little foreign and scary to some, but take it from me, it is far from scary and my injury already feels a little better! Acupuncture focuses on healing through the energy, or qi, in your body. When medical treatment doesn’t work (such as in my case), sometimes acupuncture can be a helpful next step. There are many benefits that Acupunture can provide, such as relief from:

  • Stress and anxiety
  • Indigestion
  • Muscle or joint pain
  • Tension
  • Headaches
  • Post surgery discomfort
  • Strengthening the immune system
  • Respiratory disorders
  • and so much more!

Feeling a little off? Give acupuncture a try! Try it once, or wait until I come back with the results of my treatment! Have it Your Weigh


3 thoughts on “Acupunctured

  1. My friends been convincing me to try this acupuncture thing too, but I’m still scared of needles. Maybe I could get her to do it with me 🙂 Love the banana story, that happens to me too, and I always come back to buy more from them.

  2. Pingback: Best of 2010 « Have It Your Weigh

Leave a Reply

