Oktober Festivities

Hello blog! Sorry I’ve been so distant…October has been keeping me quite busy! Grad school work went up a notch, I took up some extra projects and time has just been flying.  Some main events of this month:

Renee’s Baby Shower! 🙂 My intern partner-in-crime is expecting her first baby in less than 2 weeks! Earlier this month Danielle and I ventured to Philly to celebrate the future Baby Troutt.

The adorable soon-to-be parents

Homemade cake. Almost too cute to eat! Almost.

Renee and Dez have decided to wait to find out their baby’s gender. We’re so excited!!

The other main October event was a visit from my Syracuse bests, Alyxa and Claire! They traveled from NYC so we toured around DC, met up with Theta favorites and checked out local attractions.

On Saturday we went to Virginia with my AU friends for wine tastings. It was a perfect fall afternoon.

Our first stop was Three Fox Winery

Such a pretty place

This tasting included 11 samples! They don’t mess around.

After we had our fill of Three Fox we were off to Vintage Ridge Vineyardsand were instantly sold

Serious menu studying

We liked Vintage vineyards better since it was sit down and had a great wine and food pairing! At this point my phone died (aka my camera) so I didn’t get adequate footage, but Danielle did! This photo is courtesy of my friend Brenna (thank you!)

After the tours we drove home, had dinner with the rest of the DC gang and spent the night out in Adam’s Morgan. Perfect Saturday. Sadly, Alyxa and Claire went back to NY today and I miss them already. Come back soon please!

Besides for the main events, I’ve been checking out other fun to-do’s of DC and the surrounding area. The first took place in Reston, Va at their yearly Oktoberfest. Great food and drinks, and a U2 cover band! My camera (iPhone) doesn’t do night-time photos so I didn’t document, except for the one picture below. Camera upgrade may have to be in store…

This month I also experienced some local flavors of Cleveland Park. My neighbor Jen and I ventured to Ripple where we were greeted by this woman and her cheese table 🙂

Ripple uses local and organic foods (!). I ordered an organic red wine…sulfite and preservative free!and we split a cheese sampler along with a tasty dinner

The food was great and our waitress was awesome. A+ for Ripple!

For the next hot spot: On a not so great Thursday, Danielle and I decided we needed a pick me up with dinner at Spices, a Chinese restaurant in the area. We ordered Green Papaya salad

chicken satayand sushi! Loaded with veggies, crab and shrimp. Yum!

Phew, this month has flown by! I haven’t taken much time to make any new dishes (I’m on the grad school meal plan: quick and healthy meals to-go!) so I am featuring a dish that Alyxa created once she arrived home in nyc. After browsing my cookbook Cook Yourself Thin, she made evening plans to whip up these eggplant stacks.

Eggplant is one of my favorites, I’ll need to try these out asap!

Looking forward to what the rest of this month has to offer…until then have a healthy and happy week 🙂

Leave a Reply

