Halloween DC

HaPpY HaLLoWeEn! 🙂

Halloween week in DC = non-stop fun

But first, let us appreciate the amazingness that is fall…

I love this weather!

The fun-filled week started out with the Dupont High Heel Drag Queen Race! My friend Marisa and I, along with thousands of others, watched as decked out queens strutted their stuff.

Showing off their costumes before the race

I didn’t get adequate night-time pics, but words can’t express how it looked to see hundreds of drag queens racing each other in heels. I can barely walk, let alone run 10 minutes in heels. These guys were good!

The next event took place on Friday when I went with a fun group of friends to check out the Robert Randolph concert at 930 club. We enjoyed dinner and drinks at Vinoteca before heading to the venue.

The concert opened with Tauk, a band from Montauk, Long Island. Yeah, NY!

Then it was time for  Robert Randolph and the Family Band. They were the first band I saw live during my undergrad years at Syracuse so they hold a special place in my heart.

His music genre is hard to pinpoint, but reminds me of  a mix of soul and funk and is great all-around.

Marisa and Becky made it on stage!

By far one of my favorite concerts ever. Robert Randolph was awesome.

Saturday was the beginning of the Halloween celebration! First Danielle, Jimmy, Marisa and I ventured to Markoff’s Haunted Forest for some spooky fun. Markoff’s was intense, they had ziplining, a haunted hayride, a death jump, bonfires, and more

We had about a 30 minute wait before we could go on the walk so we warmed up with some festive eats. I got hot apple cider and a cup o’ homemade chili. Perfect for the chilly weather! Once we were done with dinner it was time for the walk. The forest trail took us 20 minutes and was all kinds of scary entertainment. Definitely not for the faint of heart.

After Markoff’s we were in the Halloween spirit, and ready to venture out in Dupont for Nightmare on M street. I went as the Safari browser, idea courtesy of my co-worker. Here I am with Rihanna (Danielle).

Unfortunately, we got there a little too late to enjoy the deals and ended up waiting on massive lines to get in anywhere. DC Halloween is hectic. At least we know for next time…

Today was the big day, Halloween! I had my share of Halloween festivities this weekend, but lucky for me I have a creative roomie who was in the spirit.

Roomie Rachel made delish pumpkin choco chip cookies earlier this week that we and friends have been enjoying.

And today she carved a super cute pumpkin!

We weren’t expecting too many trick-or-treaters to come by our apartment building, but we were hopeful. She made a welcome  sign and hung it in the doorway of our building.

Luckily a neighbor understood, and brought her daughter up to our apartment. Made our day!

Not too much food or nutrition info to report in this post, but I had to share the fun from Halloween 2010. I hope everyone had a fun-filled holiday, watch out for all that candy! To beat temptation, donate the treats, give them away, or freeze your favorites. Have it Your Weigh

PS- a big congrats to those who ran the Marine Corps Marathon in DC this morning! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Halloween DC

  1. Wow! Reminds me of the good ‘ole days in NYC for me when I was your age. Love that high heel race. I could just imagine the hysteria:) I think Rachel is the first one that ever thought of pumpkin choc chip?!? Maybe you can just send me one?

Leave a Reply

