On-The-Run

Greetings from Boston! This weekend I’m in this great city for the Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo, a dietetic conference held every year. It’s going to be a weekend full of speakers, lectures, and fun and I’m very excited to be attending. More on this when the weekend is through.

In one of my last posts I mentioned that I didn’t have any new meals or recipes to feature due to some time constraints. As my fellow grad schoolers may agree, life lately has been pretty hectic, so a lot of my meals are quick and simple, and in my opinion not very blog-worthy.

But then I thought about it and decided that even though my food isn’t always exciting and gourmet it’s a great example of quick and healthy meals for busy people on-the run! Read on for some of my go-to food choices when I’m in a hurry.

Breakfast

I am a believer in breakfast being the most important meal of the day. Eating breakfast has been linked to many benefits including weight loss, increased energy and improved focus and concentration, so plan some extra time in the morning for a balanced meal!

For a balanced breakfast include a mix of carbs, protein and fat with fruits, whole grains and low fat dairy. My go-to’s for breakfast are cereal and oatmeal with a variety of add-ins.

To those who sat through my breakfast presentation the other day I apologize for the oatmeal tangent 🙂

Other easy breakfast options include:

  • yogurt with granola and fruit
  • eggs with veggies, low-fat cheese, and whole grain toast
  • whole grain bread with peanut butter
  • smoothies
  • a high fiber breakfast bar
  • anything that you crave!

When it comes to breakfast eating something is better than nothing, but a healthy choice is your best bet.

Lunch

For lunch I tend to make food that’s quick, portable, and tasty. This usually translates into a sandwich. My go-to’s are turkey with veggies, or almond butter and banana. Almond butter instead of peanut butter for the extra vitamins, and banana instead of jelly for natural sweetness without the added sugar.

Other options include salads, wraps, soup and leftovers from dinner the night before. When it comes to lunch anything goes as long as you include some fruits, veggies, lean protein and whole grains.

Snacks

Snacks are also very important to have during the day. Snack benefits:

  • Provide energy
  • Keeps your metabolism going
  • Keeps you from getting too hungry and over eating at your next meal

Aim for snacks that have at least 5g or more of protein or fiber for added benefits. Good options include fruit, nuts, yogurt, granola bars or veggies and hummus.

Dinner

I often come home after class ready for a simple no-cook meal so I go for the following options:

Veggies and hummus on pita, salad with the works, sautéed veggies with brown rice or veggie burgers. (My favorite veggie burgers are Dr. Praeger’s. No strange ingredients and they’re delicious. Try them. Trust me.)

Other quick and tasty dinner ideas include quesadillas, whole wheat pasta, baked chicken dishes and much more! Try to make 1/2 your plate veggies, 1/4 lean meat and 1/4 whole grains for total balance. Like this:

With a fruit on the side for dessert and some water or low-fat milk as a drink you’ll be all set with your quick and balanced meal!

In other, somewhat related news, I’ve decided to take the on-the-run thing literally and start running again! Thanks to acupuncture my chest injury has started feeling much better, so in my excitement I registered for the Jingle All the Way 10k with some of my American University friends! So happy to be feeling better and able to exercise again.

Just because you’re in a rush doesn’t mean you have to put your health on the back seat! Whip up quick and healthy meals instead of heading to your favorite fast food or take out places. Have It Your Weigh


6 thoughts on “On-The-Run

  1. Thanks! Since taking your advice I feel more in control of my appetite at all times. I am realizing that if I never am really hungry I won’t overeat. You are so right. And…I always end up going back to everything you taught me when I have been partying too much:) It’s a good habit now! I feel so much healthier.

  2. That’s where you’ve been!!! Amazing!

    No need to apologize for the oatmeal tangent during your presentation. I’m an oatmeal groupie. I wanted to give you a high five after.

  3. Congratulations on being back to running!!! That is great news!!
    I want to hear your oatmeal tangent. I have just started eating it and have been craving it all the time now and wanna know what wonderful things you have to say about it.
    Those dinner images look amazing. What are the ingredients in them all? You make it look so easy!! Thanks for helping make my life healthier 🙂

Leave a Reply

