10k and DC Cookie Swap!

Today was filled with great friends and even better events! The morning started off with my first-ever 10k run. Me and 5 AU pals signed up to run the Jingle All the Way 10k held in DC and I couldn’t be happier to run with a few of my favorite people.

Gear set out the night before

My favorite accessory: The bells!

Each runner was given a complimentary set of bells to wear during the race. Score!

I woke for the race at 5:40 am to a gloomy and rainy day, but we were running the race regardless.  On the way down we saw some of the monuments, passing the Lincoln Memorial along the way

I ❤ being in DC

We arrived 10-15 minutes before the start, gathered with the crowd of people and took off! We planned to stay together but were separated by crowds. I ran the first portion of the race with friend Kevin, who kept me at a 9 minute pace for the first 4 miles, and soon the majority of the AU crew was reunited! We finished the race together, clocking in at 55:41 and a 9 minute/mile pace. This was my first race, and the first time I ever had run more than 5.5 miles so I was very pleased with my time! Big thanks to my friends for running with me and helping me stick it out! I couldn’t have done it without you guys.

Running used to my least favorite thing to do, but after being injured and unable to exercise for so long I have gained a new appreciation for my ability to exercise. And now that I’ve run this race and felt first hand how good it feels to finish, I’m already planning my next! I just found out I was picked from the lottery to run the Cherry Blossom 10 miler in April so I’m very excited to have my next race to look forward to!

After the race we celebrated with brunch at Open City.

I refueled with a tasty egg-white omelet, then went home and vegged out until the next main event of the day…..the First Annual DC Blogger Cookie Swap!! The lovely blogger Lisa, of the Splattered Apron, was nice enough to host 25+ bloggers, tweeters & friends at her home for some holiday cookie sharing. I wanted to prepare something unique and delicious for this event, so I turned to an awesome cookbook, Vegan World Fusion Cuisine. This book is no joke, the recipes are amazing.

Luckily there was only one cookie recipe to choose from, so the decision wasn’t too hard. The chosen dessert: Mysterium Tremendum Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies. Yes.please.

Not only were these cookies vegan and a bit of a healthier choice, they were so easy to make! All you need to do is pick up the main ingredients

Combine the wet and dry ingredients

refrigerate (and sneak a bite or two of the dough)

Then bake! Since I made smaller portions of the recommended size, I baked mine for 8 minutes instead of 10. I also substituted them with agave nectar instead of maple syrup, and toasted pecans instead of walnuts.

I taste tested these cookies on some friends and myself, got great reviews, and was ready to share them with the other DC bloggers. Lisa welcomed us to her home in Virginia and I spent the next few hours with some amazing girls, and got a first-hand pick at a ton of scrumptious cookies!

There was a delicious spread of appetizers prepared by Lisa and Emily

And tons of cookies! There were delicious samples everywhere.

It was so nice to meet so many friendly and fun people in the area. Such a great event. Thank you again Lisa for having us, and it was great to meet everyone! I can’t wait until next time.

Hope everyone had a healthy and happy weekend 🙂

Mysterium Tremendum Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

25 minutes prep / 15 minutes cook
Makes 8 large cookies

Ingredients:

Dry:

2 cups spelt flour
1 cup vegan chocolate chips
1 cup walnuts, chopped
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon powder
pinch nutmeg, ground

Wet:

2/3 cup maple syrup
2/3 cup safflower oil
2 tablespoons filtered water
1 teaspoon peppermint extract

Loving preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place dry ingredients in a large mixing
bowl and mix well. Combine wet ingredients in another large bowl. Add
wet to dry and mix well. Refrigerate for 15 minutes. Place 8 scoops on
a well oiled or parchment paper-lined baking sheet and flatten
slightly with hand. Space evenly so cookies have room to spread.

Bake until golden brown, approximately 10 minutes. Allow to cool
before enjoying.

Variations:

Replace walnuts with toasted pecans or macadamia nuts.

Replace chocolate chips with carob chips or dried fruits.

Add 2 tablespoons of cocoa or carob powder to above.

Try adding 1 tablespoon spirulina.

3 thoughts on “10k and DC Cookie Swap!

  1. Pingback: Best of 2010 « Have It Your Weigh

Leave a Reply

