Feeling Potlucky

The theme of my holiday season so far seems to be potlucks, and I am certainly ok with that! I love trying out new recipes and tasting what friends and family come up with as well.

Last night, a few of my favorite AU friends got together for our first annual holiday potluck! (Executive decision just made)

For the party I wanted to bring something healthy and tasty and realized I hadn’t made my mom’s famous bean dip in quite some time! When I told my friend-that-will-remain-nameless what I was bringing, the idea was shot down, but I knew his mind would change once he tried it, so I didn’t listen and made it anyway!

Super-simple recipe soon to come.

To ease his mind, I also decided to make something holiday-ish and I set out on my first peppermint-bark making experience! Disclaimer: This dessert is not healthy. It just looks fun and tastes very very good 🙂

I thought the bark would be challenging, but it was actually pretty easy! All you do is melt white chocolate in a double boiler (or in my case a strainer and heat-proof bowl

Spread the chocolate in a baking pan and add some chopped candy canes

While it cools, do the same with the dark chocolate layer

cool, and repeat with the white chocolate layer. That’s it! I was a little nervous to make the bark, but the result was deeeelish!

Once the cooking was done it was time to head to the potluck for a night of friends, fun, and competitive games. There was also a  spread of very yummy food

Lasagna, quinoa, turkey chili, creamed spinach and a sushi sampler! A little something for everyone 🙂

For dessert there were cookies and my peppermint bark

And there was also a holiday surprise….

Buddy the Elf!! He heard there was a Christmas party and came to spread some holiday cheer. And eat all the food 😉

Actually, he brought the quinoa…

Hope everyone’s having a great holiday season so far! 🙂 What do you make when heading to a potluck?

Layered Peppermint Bark

Ingredients

  • 20 ounces white chocolate, coarsely chopped, divided
  • 30 peppermint candies, crushed, divided
  • 10 ounces dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 6 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon peppermint extract

Directions

  1. Line a 9×12 inch baking pan with aluminum foil or parchment paper.
  2. Melt half of the white chocolate in the top of a double boiler over just barely simmering water, stirring frequently and scraping down the sides with a rubber spatula to avoid scorching. Spread the white chocolate into the prepared pan. Sprinkle 1/4 of the crushed peppermints evenly over white chocolate. Chill until firm, about 15 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, melt the dark chocolate, heavy cream, and peppermint extract together in the top of a double boiler over just barely simmering water, stirring frequently, until just melted. Quickly pour the chocolate layer over the chilled white chocolate layer; spread evenly. Chill until firm, about 20 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, melt the remaining white chocolate in the top of a double boiler over just barely simmering water, stirring frequently, until just melted. Spread quickly over the chilled bark. Sprinkle with the remaining peppermint pieces; chill until firm, about 20 minutes. Cut or break into small pieces to serve.

5 thoughts on “Feeling Potlucky

  1. Gah that peppermint bark looks fantastic! I’ve never made it before, but I’ll have to try it now that I know it’s so easy!

Leave a Reply

