Summer Lovin’ Part II

The second half of August was split between a trip home to Florida and a blogging conference in Philadelphia!

The week in Florida included a little R&R at my favorite place…..the beach!

Beautiful water, refreshing food, and quality time with the rents=happyUsually more days are spent beaching, but this time there was something even more wonderful taking up our time…

Mom’s new puppy!!One minute my family and I were doing “homework” on what type of dogs we might like, and the next thing I knew we were walking out with one!She’s a toy poodle and her name is Cassie. Already in love 🙂

After Florida, I took a pit stop in DC and then headed to Philadelphia for the Healthy Living Summit, a conference for bloggers and healthy living enthusiasts.The conference was run by Meaghann from Meals and Miles, who did a fantastic job!There were informative presentations including one by Stepfanie on How to Write a Better RecipeAnd a few by Dawn Jackson Blatner, an inspirational RD who did a presentation on her book, the Flexitarian Diet, and another on Action MantrasOverall, I took a lot away from the conference including new information, new friends, and a new appreciation for blogging.

After the day, we were ready to scope out the city of Brotherly Love. Danielle and I, and our new friend Christie, ventured to a local restaurant, Barbuzzo.The meal was deelicious and the staff very accommodating. Highly recommended if you’re ever in the Philly area!

On Sunday morning, most of the conference attendees joined for the best way to tour a city: a 5k run/walk!

We saw some neat things including the Rocky steps…

View from the topAfter the run and a Quaker breakfast, I stocked up on some fresh (and cheap!) veggies from the Reading Terminal marketand then set out to visit this cutie, DeAngelo! DeAngelo is the son of one of my Dietetic Intern friends, Renee.Isn’t he adorable? I was so caught up that I didn’t get enough pictures. For numerous model shots check out Danielle’s blog!

First day of my last semester of grad school starts tomorrow! Here goes nothing!

One thought on “Summer Lovin’ Part II

  1. Remember me from HLS? the older blonde marathon lady at your table who wanted that lululemon prize – well I did it. I launched my blog. Please check it out and let me know what you really think. Your blog is absolutely beautiful and it looks like you had some wonderful trips this summer Hope to chat soon.

Leave a Reply

