A Beautiful Weekend

Spring has sprung my friends!

IMG_8397It’s Cherry Blossom season here in DC and it couldn’t have been a more beautiful weekend! Temps were in the 70’s and 80’s and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky.

I was extra thankful for the great weather because this weekend I ran the GW Parkway Classic 5k! But first a look at Saturday.

One of the great things about living in DC is that friends and family will often be visiting here for trips. This weekend I was so happy to hear that my cousin Stefanie and her wonderful fam would be here for Spring Break. We had a fun trip to the zoo

IMG_8409

IMG_8403Followed by a delicious dinner in Cleveland Park. Such a great time catching up with them! I love when family visits.

On Sunday it was race day! We woke up first thing in the morning to get ready. The race featured a 10 miler or a 5k option and we signed up for the 5k.

IMG_8410The race was a scenic course along the Potomac River ending in Old Town, Alexandria. I heard the course would be pretty and the views of the water did not disappoint! Even better was the amazing weather that we had. The race started at 8:00am and once we got going the temperature was perfect. Some of the best running weather I’ve had during a race.

Even more exciting was that it was friend Jen’s first race!! She did so awesome and I was so excited for her!

Some before shots:

IMG_8414IMG_8412And after:

IMG_8417IMG_8418With the perfect temps and great energy I set a new PR running this race in 26:45! The last 1/2 mile was rough but my running partner helped me stay motivated (thanks Frank!).

As we were running I smelled some delicious breakfast foods being cooked. The scent was coming from Union Street Public House so we stopped there to refuel after the race. I was so hungry that I forgot to snap pics of my meal but got some shots of the impressive coffee offerings

IMG_8423IMG_8422I got the Farmer’s Omelet full of veggies and deliciousness. It hit the spot!

The rest of the day was spent reading, soaking up the sun and a batch of my favorite Polenta Tamale Pie.

IMG_8424Hope everyone had a great weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

