Birthday Weekend

This May has started out with a bang and been so fun! The weather has finally been warmer, which made it a great time to have some fun visitors in town.

Last weekend I celebrated my 27th (!!) birthday with some special guests. My parents, brother and sister in law came from all parts of the country to visit DC and I couldn’t have been more excited.  I was so excited I forgot to snap pictures of everything, so I’ll share the few that I got. If you are curious about some fun places to visit in DC, these are all of my favorites spots and I highly recommend them!

The first night they came in we grabbed dinner at Open City. This place is known for its brunch but they also have a delicious dinner menu as well. I love it because it is around the corner from where I live and a great local spot.

Friday morning I worked while the fam visited the National Zoo. After their trip to the zoo they came and visited me at work at Georgetown!

20140512-111535.jpgI gave them a campus tour which included lunch at the dining hall. The weather was perfect for seeing the campus and walking around.

That evening we enjoyed dinner and drinks in Penn Quarter, an area in downtown DC with tons of great restaurants and night life. Penn Quarter is right near the Verizon Center and Chinatown and is always bustling with activity.

IMG_8545One thing I love about DC is that there are always fun events and most museums and monuments are free to visit. On Saturday morning we took advantage by heading down to the National Mall for some sightseeing. First stop was Cars at the Capital.

IMG_8547This event was the first annual car show on the mall and this year they were celebrating the 50 year anniversary of the first ever Dune Buggy. The coolest part is that Bruce Meyers, the man who created them, was there! We heard him and other car connoisseurs speak and then we took some pics with the man himself.

IMG_8553IMG_8557Frank was in car heaven 🙂

Second stop was at the Museum of Natural History where we saw an Imax movie about the Ice Age.

IMG_8568Then it was time for the outdoors! We headed to Eastern Market, one of my favorite places in DC for a walk around the market and a delicious lunch. Eastern Market is an outdoor and indoor farmers market and flea market with local vendors from the DC area and surrounding states.

IMG_8600

We walked around for a few hours, went home to rest up and followed dinner with a live blues performance at Zoo Bar.

IMG_8572Zoo Bar is a fun spot and the first Saturday of each month a great Blues Band, Big Boy Little Band,  hits the stage. Definitely worth a visit!

On Sunday it was my Birthday!! We brunched at Farmers, Fishers and Bakers, a popular restaurant on the Georgetown Waterfront, known for its locally sourced and delicious tasting food. It was an amazing meal and a fan favorite for all of the fam!

20140512-112247.jpg After that we ventured to another favorite spot, Old Town, Alexandria. Old Town is a quaint riverfront town just south of DC with cute cafes, cobblestone streets and fun shopping. We walked around Old Town for a few hours and had a great time before it was time for the family to leave :(. We had such a blast, thank you for coming and celebrating with me!

Right after the family left it was time to see friends! I met a few of my people at our favorite rooftop spot in Cleveland Park. It was a great ending to an amazing weekend. Thank you everyone who made it so special!

If you are visiting DC I recommend doing it just like this and then preparing to sleep for the next three days ;). So thankful to live in a city with so much excitement and friends to share it with!

Hope everyone is enjoying this warm weather. Have a great week!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend

  1. Happy belated birthday! I’m actually moving to DC next year–not sure where exactly, probably nearby in Virginia, so I paid extra attention to this post. I’m really excited to explore all the museums and things to see.

Leave a Reply

