Downingtown 5k and a Wonderful Wedding

Happy Tuesday folks! I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend.

This weekend I visited Pennsylvania for a fun-filled holiday including a very special wedding. But first a 5k!

Each year Frank’s fam runs the Good Neighbor Day 5k and throws an epic 4th of July party after. Luckily I have been able to partake the past few years! The 5k starts at Kerr Park in Downingtown and is a fun run through the neighborhood. Last year I couldn’t handle the heat and ran at my slowest pace ever and actually had to walk a little. So my goal this year was to do better. Easy enough!

IMG_8945Game faces on!

IMG_8946We started the run and it was an easy 3.1 miles through the town.  I didn’t want to have any issues with the heat like last year so I kept at a steady pace and felt great! The weather was warm but nowhere near last time, which made it much better.

IMG_8950

Race finishers!  I set a new 5k PR of 26:15 at a pace of 8:27 and was very happy!

The rest of the day was spent celebrating the 4th and then prepping for Frank’s sister’s wedding!

IMG_8943The day turned out beautifully and everything was perfect! There were some power outage issues due to a brief storm the day before, but it only made it more memorable.

IMG_8977

IMG_8982IMG_8987The reception and venue were gorgeous and so were the happy couple. So excited for them!

IMG_9003IMG_9005I was too busy dancing and having fun and forgot to take pics during the wedding. Always a good sign!!

Congrats Rita and Jason! Thank you for letting me share in your special day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

