Cooking with Cava

One thing that DC doesn’t lack is amazingly fresh and healthy foods. One of my favorites in the area is Cava, a DC area restaurant that makes healthy and tasty Greek food that you can purchase locally. Mediterranean food is one of my favorites and Cava hits the spot. Inspired by their flavors, I used their spreads to amp up some of my favorite dishes.

DSC_6183 DSC_6184

If I could describe Cava foods in one word I would say flavorful. These products are full of delicious taste and spice and it is easy to get creative with them. So let’s get cookin’!

First up on the menu: Baked Kale “Chips” with Tzatziki Sauce.

Normal Kale chips are delicious, but it doesn’t get much better than dunking them in Tzatziki sauce. To make these, I just rinsed the kale, broke off large pieces and put them on a cookie sheet. I drizzled them with olive oil, garlic and pepper and baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Then enjoyed with tzatziki!

DSC_6185DSC_6188DSC_6190

Soo good.

Next up was the main course. Inspired by this dish, I decided to make harissa and feta stuffed chicken breast. Cava’s Crazy Feta is spicy and the harissa is even spicier. Bring it on!

DSC_6193 DSC_6192

To make the chicken I took 3/4 cup of the crazy feta and mixed it with 1/3 cup of the harissa. I stuffed 4 chicken breasts with the mixture and cooked at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Easy as that!

To round out the meal, I used their tabbouleh to make stuffed grape leaves. Grape leaves are new territory for me but I was up for the challenge.

DSC_6194DSC_6199DSC_6201I used a few videos and tutorials to blanch and stuff the grape leaves just right. I need a bit more practice but was happy with the result.

After stuffing the grape leaves it was time to eat. Final product:

DSC_6204This meal was spicy, but adding Tzatziki on the side cooled it down while adding delicious flavor. We had it for dinner and rated the meal a 10 out of 10. It was fresh, tasty and easy to put together. Plus these products were born in the DC area and I am always a fan of local eating.

For your own Cava products, they are available in retail locations from DC up to Connecticut. I would definitely recommend trying them out for some awesome Greek products. Great for recipes, party dips or healthy snacking!

 

Leave a Reply

